Prof. Ohm receives VDE Ring of Honour

  Prof. Ohm with VDE-CEO Dr. Mand and VDE-President Dr. Kegel Copyright: © © Jens-Rainer Ohm

In the context of the event of the VDE Tec Summit 2018 in Berlin, Prof. Jens-Rainer Ohm was awarded with the VDE Ring of Honour. This bestowal acknowledges his internationally relevant contributions to the scientific field of Digital Processing and Compression of Video Signals. Especially the participation in the development of the MPEG-7, AVC and HEVC Standards were of extraordinary importance for his awarding.

The VDE Ring of Honour embodies a great award since the Association of Electrical Engineering, Electronic Engineering ("Verband der Elektrotechnik, Elektronik und Informationstechnik") and Information Technology confers the Ring under very high standards. The main prerequisites are a personal, scientific or technical effort, that constitutes a fundamental contribution in the field of electrical engineering. The award ceremony takes place every second year since 1958. Prof. Ohm is the fifth member of the Faculty of Electrical Engineering and Information Technology of RWTH Aachen University who is awarded with the VDE Ring of Honour.

This year's VDE awared ceremony took place in the context of the 125-year founding anniversary of the VDE on the one hand, and of the influence of the omnipresent digitalisation in technological and societal areas on the other hand. Further Rings of Honour were given to Prof. Peter Noll (TU Berlin) and Prof. Helmut F. Schlaak (TU Darmstadt) for their lifes' work.